To Eagle Valley Campground

I love a good tailwind. It’s just the best.
I left my campground at 9:30 this morning to avoid rush hour traffic. Highway 1 is a bit of a mess there, and I can only imagine what it would be like when it’s busy. I also had to buy some groceries from town, because the campsite tonight is in the middle of nowhere. Like other highway towns, Medicine Hat has a basic layout – gas stations, supermarkets, malls, and the historic downtown areas are all in their place, so it was quite easy to stop for groceries. I also stopped for second breakfast this morning, as first breakfast was disappointingly small.
Because of this, I didn’t get on the road until about 11, but that hardly mattered because I made great time.
Having never experience good tailwind, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but it was so awesome. I was hardly pedalling, but most of the day I was moving at 30kph.
About 50km in, I stopped for a lunch break at the Alberta tourist office. This is the only place along the way that could actually be considered a good place to stop. I had lunch outside and went inside to fill my water bottles. Upon exiting the building, I noticed that the ground outside was wet. Why could this be? “No!” I said, perhaps too loudly. No more rain! Fortunately, this was a traditional prairie shower and was over in minutes.
A couple of kilometres later was the Saskatchewan border. Unlike when I entered Alberta, there was a large sign indicating that I was in Saskatchewan. I pulled over to stop for a quick photo, leaning my bike up against the giant sign. 2 seconds after I took the photo, a gust of wind knocked my bike down. Keep in mind that his is not an easy task, as my bike weighs about as much as I do…of course, it’s on wheels, but still. It was one of those slow motions things when I could see the bike falling, but couldn’t do anything about it. Rather unfortunately, I had left a pocket unzipped when I removed the camera, so my stuff went flying. I was gathering pens and Chapstick as the wind tried to take them away. Overcome with the hilarity of the situation, I laughed out loud as I was doing this, and scared a tourist family that I had not initially noticed. Oops.
I had always thought that Saskatchewan was a very flat province, but this is not the case. My first day in Saskatchewan was very hilly. But because of the wind, the momentum from the downhill kept me going to the top of the next hill. I’m pretty sure I didn’t pedal for about 5km doing this, and I was moving fast.
Eagle Valley Campground is in the middle of nowhere. But it’s very nice, and I had a hot shower, decent food, and the wind is drying my towel in about 10 minutes. I’m really looking forward to the next couple of days and seeing some really flat prairies.

20130615-194830.jpg

Leave a Reply

