To Roblin

I know I shouldn’t be complaining about the weather – a lot if people have it a lot worse than I do. Especially those poor people in southern Alberta whose houses are flooding. But seriously Mother Nature, shut it down.
I was woken up very early this morning, yet again, by the sound of rain on my tent. Who needs an alarm clock when you have a naturally occurring daily rain shower to wake you up? Of course my tent got packed up saturated again, which was not ideal, but there you go.
Since I did not bother to buy bread yesterday, I decided to treat myself to breakfast out today. I went to the same greasy spoon restaurant and had a delicious meal. Maybe someone can explain this to me – why do I get such weird looks when I ask for milk with my coffee instead if cream?
I hit the road at about 10, in the rain and against the wind. But, it was a pretty good ride. I’m really glad that I only did a short ride yesterday, because today was only about 85km total.
I was pedalling along against the wind, quite happy to be on the road. The wind let up for a moment and my bike felt so light by comparison that I actually reached back to make sure none of my gear had fallen off. That’s how much of a difference the wind makes. Riding into the wind is like towing someone on roller blades – the stronger the wind, the fatter that person.
The rain finally stopped and I just had the wind to contend with, which was a nice break. Then, as I crossed the border into Manitoba there was a big, long downhill to the Prairie Lake. There was a campground and cafe there so I stopped for a bite to eat. Of course, for every downhill there is an up, and this one was pretty decently sized. People in the cafe were offering me rides and were shocked that I was taking a bicycle up the hill. I told them that if I could do the Rockies, this small hill was no big deal. And it wasn’t. It was steep but very short, comparatively.
After that it was only another 13km or so to Roblin.
I got the the campground in Roblin and found it to be abandoned. There was a sign saying to go to the office in town, which was only open 8:30 to 4:30 Monday to Friday. As it it Sunday at 6pm, this was rather inconvenient for me. Upon further inspection I discovered that the bathrooms were locked and no one else was camped there. The fact that the campground was half underwater may or may not have had something to do with this. The campground was right next to a very swollen lake, which had partially submerged some of the campsites. As there is a rainfall warning of about 50mm for tonight, I decided that perhaps this would not be the ideal place to spend the night.
That’s how I ended up in a motel. I’m drying out my tent, washing my socks, and relaxing on a comfy bed while I enjoy free wifi. It’s not an ideal situation, but I’ve spent enough nights out in the rain to feel ok about this.
The weather tomorrow is supposed to be warm and sunny with a tailwind in my favour, and I’m very much looking forward to that.

20130623-231253.jpg

7 thoughts on “To Roblin

  1. So I have been following your exploits and am very impressed that you are at the Manitoba boarder already, cudo’s. I am really looking forward to buying you a drink and hearing the stories in the near future. The weather is warming up and drying out here so hopefully good days ahead for you. You’re increasing your lead as coolest girl ever.

    Cheers!
    Steve

  2. Kat,

    Followed the link to your blog from my ex-colleague’s blog Nomad Dream. I’m always interested in long-distance cycle tourers, being one myself. Although not nearly as lengthy as yours, I completed Vancouver to the Mexican Border last fall.

    Also, have you heard of warmshowers.org? Caters specifically to cycle tourists and is free! Check it out. I’ve had some really nice places to stay with incredibly kind and generous hosts.

    I would love to see a picture of your bike!

    Keep up your spirits – you’re living a dream!
    Trish

    • Hi Trish! Nice to hear from you. That trip down to the Mexican border sounds awesome. Those Nomads are amazing – I can’t wait to read more about their adventures.
      I will definitely post some photos of my bike!
      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. OMG … you are in Manitoba!!!!!
    3 down and 7 more to go girl!…..only if you are going to bike thru all the provinces. Are you?

    keep smiling …….unless you keep getting a mouth full of bugs!

    • I think so! I will have to take a bus to PEI because I can’t take a bicycle on that bridge, but I would definitely want to go! Can’t wait for these prairies to be over ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

