To the Narrows

This really is a beautiful country, when it’s not raining.
The thunder started yesterday afternoon. At the time, I had convinced myself that it was just the sound of trucks. Lots of trucks. A convoy of trucks. Driving over sheets of metal.
But it wasn’t. Fortunately I had cleaned up after dinner and was in my tent before the rain really started. There was thunder and lightning and rain all night. Literally all night. From the moment I started reading last night to the moment I woke up, it was raining. At one point the thunder and lightning seemed like it was right above my head and I just lay there hoping that lightning didn’t strike my tent.
I woke up this morning feeling much better than yesterday, and was very glad that I had listened to what my body needed. Even though it was raining when I set out, it wasn’t a particularly heavy rain, so it wasn’t so bad. I rode the 30km or so to a small town called Eddystone. On my way, I realized how much rain this community had had. There were cow fields that were half underwater, and there was a guy pumping water out of his front yard. There was so much water in the ditch on either side of the road that the water actually had a current. I could have paddled a canoe in this water. We could have given it a name and dubbed it a river.
Past Eddystone (which as basically a gas station and some houses), I kept pedalling. The rain was letting up so I was happy. I could hear frogs croaking and hawks overhead. I seemed to startle ducks into flight everywhere I went.
Since I basically broke my ride into 2 days, I only did 70km today and arrived at the Manitoba Lake Narrows at about 2pm, which is quite early. When I checked in I asked the guy behind he desk whether it would rain tonight. He guaranteed that it would, since it had rained every day for a week here.
Awesome.
But he was wrong! After one rather long rain shower the sun came out and it has been shining ever since! He must have jinxed it, but in a good way. It got so warm that I went to find some shade to relax in. The humidity is definitely making it feel warmer. At what point am I allowed to complain about the heat?

20130626-202813.jpg

Leave a Reply

