To Rimouski

Is it bad that I had to look up what town I’m in? It certainly can’t be good.
Once again, I woke up this morning to the sound of rain hitting my tent fly. This was rather unfortunate as I had left my towel and shorts out to dry last night. While they may have been dry at one point, they were now super wet. I decided to just leave them be until it stopped raining – there was no point to me getting wet as well.
This took quite some time, as it was a larger than expected rain cloud. There were a few other touring cyclists camped out near me, and I think we collectively decided to have a late start this morning due to weather conditions. Either that or they were staying at the campsite for the day and I was just being lazy. Lots of options.
I finally packed up my sopping wet towel and shorts, and waited just long enough that my tent had dried a bit, and then I was off. Travelling with gear that wet is basically like carrying the weight of an extra water bottle, but without the benefit of being able to drink the water. It was super overcast in the morning and looked like it would rain any minute. But once I decided that it would be a dry day, I bungeed my towel on top of my sleeping bag so that it would dry. At least a little.
I stopped at a little restaurant for lunch. Sometimes, you just have to eat a cheeseburger. I met a family who were cycle touring and the father and son were vegetarian, and the mother was vegan. I do not know how they did it. I’m not a big meat eater, but I find myself craving red meat sometimes – I think my muscles really need that type of protein, and my body needs the iron to keep my energy level up. Hats off to them for doing this trek on a restricted diet, because I certainly could not.
Today, there were some pretty traditionally Quebec roads (ie riddled with potholes), and some nicely paved roads as well. They took me through several smaller towns alongside the Fleuve Saint Laurent. Most of these towns have very religious names – they could easily be the names of churches or catholic schools. Notre Dame des Sept Douleurs and Saint Fabien come to mind.
The terrain today was a bit more uphill than in the past, but there were some nice downhills to accompany them. Fortunately, I had a pretty strong tailwind for a good chunk of the day, which made my life a lot easier and me a lot happier.
On the west end of Rimouski there’s a sizeable hill. The campsite is located at the bottom of this downhill. That wasn’t fun. I came zooming down the hill and realized I had to slam on the brakes and lose all of my momentum. I overshot the driveway by a few metres and had to back track a bit. So close.
After an ok meal, an ok shower (the lady at reception said $1 bought an 8 minute shower, but it turned out to be a 3 minute shower, which wouldn’t have been so bad except that I was expecting an 8 minute shower), and a bit of reading, I’m off to bed at 9:15. I’m keeping my towel inside my tent tonight.

20130808-211819.jpg

2 thoughts on “To Rimouski

Leave a Reply

