So Far: Prince Edward Island

Feels like I just did one of these…
As usual, when I finish with a province I like to look back at that province, as well as things I’ve learned (or relearned) about travelling in general.
First, some thoughts on PEI:
That is one tiny province. So small that I didn’t do more than 80km in a day while I was there. Tiny.
There’s a lot of broken glass on the side of the road. I wonder if it’s been thrown out of cars.
The mosquitoes here are the same as in New Brunswick – vicious and painful. I had to use bug spray for the first time since northwestern Ontario.
The dirt here really is red!
Tourists here are really obsessed with this Anne chic. I don’t know who she is, and I don’t care why colour her gables are. Frankly, I think that’s really personal information that I should not be privy to.

And some things I’ve learned (or relearned) about travelling in general:
It seems campground showers are designed for people much shorter than me. People are taller now! Get with the times.
Children ask funny questions about my bike ride. But where’s your car? Do you have your hair in a bun when you put your helmet on? These are the pressing questions on small children’s minds.
The further east I get, the more impressed and doubtful people become. They often think that I’m from Vancouver but drove or flew to the east coast with my bicycle. Once they figure it out they’re impressed, but until then they just think I’m thick and haven’t understood their question properly. “Yes, but where did you start riding? This would be easier if you actually listened to my question.”
Always quadruple check that you have all of your clothes before you do wash!

20130818-211112.jpg

Leave a Reply

