To Truro

Ok, technically a few kilometres south of Truro, but I’m not sure the area has a name, so I’m sticking with Truro.
That was one of the worst days of riding I’ve had. Hands down.
I woke up and did not want to get going. It was just one of those days. I probably should have just stayed in my tent.
I ran out of bananas and jam, so all I had for breakfast was wraps and peanut butter. Super dry and super gross.
Eventually I hit the road, tired and slightly hungry. And a little grumpy. I was going south in highway 106, and it was very windy. It was just a cross wind though, so I was not very concerned. I hit Pictou and stopped for some coffee and second breakfast. After that I was less grumpy.
To get back onto the highway I had to go almost all the way around a traffic circle. Instead of making a very simple left turn. Who designed that? I swear it was slowing people down more than anything.
Once I got onto highway 104, the headwind hit. This is because I was technically heading west. West! The direction I have only gone accidentally in the past. The direction I have tried to avoid a all costs, but was now going toward deliberately. I have to go back west toward Truro before going south to Halifax. There’s no way to avoid it.
The headwind was absolutely brutal. For a while, my average speed was 13.5 kilometres per hour. That includes the morning speeds that were actually reasonably quick, factored into the lethargic afternoon trudgery. The worst part was that it was a west wind. The wind that I usually hope for because I am headed east! The one day I head west is the day that would have been phenomenal to ride eastward. Just my luck.
I managed to keep my spirits up the whole day (mostly), which is more than half the battle when fighting a headwind. That being said, I still made very bad time. I only arrived in Truro at 6pm. By that point I had been out of water for a while, and had not eaten nearly enough. This usually doesn’t happen to me, but there was nowhere to stop and refill, and I was moving too slow to want to stop and eat.
I found a restaurant in Truro and ordered two entrees. The first was chicken fingers (I was craving chickeny protein) and the second was a fish cake and an egg. Apparently this is a Truro favourite, and it was really good, but I couldn’t figure out what the egg had to do with anything. The server was confused and I had to explain to her that yes, I did want two full entrees. What’s so hard to understand about that?
After that I picked up groceries and made my way south toward the campground. After a hot shower and a good stretch, I am more than ready for bed.

4 thoughts on “To Truro

  1. You have now reached Brad’s province and he and we will be there in his home town of Glace Bay in December. Go Katharine go!

Leave a Reply

