I quit my job today?

Today, I am going to quit my job. Don’t get me wrong – it’s a great job. It’s just not the one that’s going to make me happy in 5, 10, 40 years. So while I’m young and have limited financial responsibilities, I might as well take advantage of my situation and find what will actually make me happy in the long run. Right?

I’ve been thinking about this for a while, but now that I’ve actually made the final decision, it’s a bit scary. What if I can’t find other work? What if I miss this job? What if I’m really happy but so poor that I can’t afford to eat? These are all real world possibilities. But I’ve got to try it anyway.

My boyfriend (who supports my decision) asked me if I had made a pros and cons list. Which would be a great idea, but would not change my decision – remember that time I decided to quit my other job and ride a bike across Canada? No pros and cons list for that either. I just know that if I don’t do it now, I will waste more of my time in a great job that would be perfect for someone else.

I started this job part-time to make some money while I tried to find a career I was passionate about. All of a sudden it’s 21 months later, I’ve stopped looking for my passion, and I work full time in a job that I don’t hate, but I certainly don’t love.

So this is it. This is my official 2 weeks notice. Today, I will go in to work and I will quit. I’m not looking forward to it, but at the same time I really am. I can’t wait to have the freedom and time to find my bliss, corny as that sounds.

Leave a Reply

