Getting stuck

How many people feel like they’re stuck in dead end jobs, or jobs they don’t want to be in for the rest of their lives, or jobs that they just don’t feel passionate about? With all of the people offering me support for my decision, I’ve also had a lot of people tell me how much they want to do the same, but haven’t for whatever reason.

I think many people get stuck in a job because they’re comfortable there. They know what the job consists of, they know what’s expected of them, they know what’s next, and they know there’s a guaranteed paycheque at the end of the day. Whereas finding something new is scary. What if I can’t find anything I like? What if I’m really bad at the thing that I like? What if I can’t make money and then I can’t even get a bad job and then I go broke and have to sell all of my earthly possessions just to eat? What if I fail?

Every time I’ve thought about leaving this job (for the past few months) there’s always been something that stopped me. But, looking back on it, that thing stopping me has always been a fear of change or failure.

I’ve never liked change. I’m not sure anyone loves change. It’s a scary thing. There’s so much to get used to with a new job – new routines, new people, new things to learn, and new expectations, both internal and external. Those changes could turn out to be great, but they could also turn out horribly. Thus the fear of failure.

Since quitting my steady income job, there are so many more things I can fail at! But right alongside, there are now so many more things I can succeed at!

Starting over is super scary. But it’s also 100% necessary for me right now. If I don’t try, I won’t fail. But if I don’t try, I also won’t succeed. I’ll just sit in a stew of sameness, wallowing in a sense of safety and comfort, until I slowly die. And that just doesn’t sound like fun.

Leave a Reply

