Week 7: I call your (Scarborough) Bluff…

I was really excited to go to the Scarborough Bluffs! And then I was very disappointed when I got there.

I had come close to getting to the Bluffs before, but only because I took a wrong turn on my bike. Like most of my adventures. I had seen photos of the Bluffs as well, and was very excited to see this beautiful natural wonder in my very own backyard!

So, my boyfriend and I set out on the subway, all the way to Victoria Park (which is super far), and then caught a bus. Over an hour after we set out on the transit system, we arrived! Or so I thought.

We got off the bus in front of what appeared to be an extremely expensive private school, and started walking south toward the lake. You know what’s surprisingly hard to find? The Scarborough Bluffs! There’s a bunch of small residential streets with big signs that say “No Access to the Bluffs.” Which seems elitist and exclusive, but I can also understand how in peak season those signs would be completely necessary.

Eventually we found the park on one side of the Bluffs. The view was pretty nice, but not was I had imagined. Then we walked some more over to the other side of the park, and got an OK view there too. Much of the Bluffs is closed off for safety: there has been a lot of erosion in the area, and visitors are not allowed to walk in dangerous areas. I can understand why the City would need to close this off (can we say lawsuit) but it also took away a lot of the view from the Bluffs.

Some of the locals just sort of ignored the “do not enter” signs, but I was unwilling. I’ve heard too many news stories of people falling from the bluffs and injuring themselves. I am also nervous about heights, so this was a no-go zone for me.

The area was quite beautiful because the leaves were all changing, and the weather was gorgeous. But overall, I was underwhelmed. On the bright side, we did get to walk around the neighbourhood, and see all of the amazing houses down there. As it turns out, that’s a real nice area.

The sort-of-view of the Scarborough Bluffs.

The sort-of-view of the Scarborough Bluffs.

Leave a Reply

