Week 10: Apple butter

I’m not really sure how apple butter ended up on my list of things to do this year, but it’s on there, so I had to do it.

I remember my mother making apple butter when I was very young, but I haven’t had it in years and years. Then a while ago, I was in the organic foods section of a grocery store (I probably got lost) and saw a jar of apple butter, and the taste of it came back to me.

My slow cooker and I have recently become best friends, so I looked up a recipe for apple butter in a slow cooker. I found a recipe, that called for 22 hours of cooking time. It took me 4 days to complete my apple butter – it definitely could have taken less but I’m a really good procrastinator. Like, really, really good.

Does anything ever taste as good as when mom made it for you as a kid? This definitely didn’t. Because it was my first time making apple butter, and I hadn’t eaten it in over 20 years, I could not remember the level of sweetness or thickness apple butter is supposed to have. As a result, I have a pretty sweet, yet very flavourful, apple sauce. I’m still spreading it on toast (and homemade cornbread, which is a delicious combination), but I could have cooked it down much longer.

This challenge made me feel a little like my 101 year old aunt, who makes everything from scratch and is the most healthy person I know, both physically and mentally. (Although the family recently found out that the only water she consumes is the ice cubes in her daily martini.) I love making things from scratch, and finding something new was nice.

I underestimated how much apple butter I was actually making, and as a result I now have a freezer full of tiny containers of apple butter. So if you want some delicious, homemade, watery apple butter, please let me know.

apple butter.jpeg

Delicious, delicious apple butter

 

One thought on “Week 10: Apple butter

  1. Looks good to me! Maybe you should have asked Aunt Helen for HER recipe! I remember making lots of apple sauce when you were little. Apple butter — not so much.

Leave a Reply

