So what do you do?

This is a question we all get pretty often. What do you do? At one time, this was easy for me to answer. I didn’t like the answer, but it was pretty straightforward. Now, however, it’s a mish-mash of jobs, hobbies, and “others.”

It’s been just over two months since I quit my job, and I am so glad that I did. Sometimes I’ll be working, or reading, or doing nothing at all, and a smile suddenly appears on my face as I remember what a good decision I made months ago. Everything that I’ve done in the past 9 weeks has made me happier than the job I left.

Right now, I have seven-ish paying jobs, although two are wrapping up for the winter season:

  • tour guide (x2)
  • bootcamp instructor
  • newsie
  • swim instructor
  • marketing for a zombie clown show
  • writer (my first post for blog TO just came out!)
  • being a Kijiji god (although this is done now)
  • fitness instructor (volunteer)

I am working on two new job leads and I just applied to Big Sisters Toronto. I am also turning my biking across Canada blog into a book, and pitching the idea to travel publications. On top of that I am doing improv, attending shows, reading, writing, doing my challenges challenge, baking, working out, and thinking about what I want to do in five years.

So basically I’m keeping busy.

The newsie job is where I spend most of my time (a whopping 15 hours per week), and pays most of my bills. It’s a very easy, very relaxed job: I hand out free newspapers to morning commuters. All I have to do is smile and say “good morning.” That’s it. There’s no stress, no pressure, and no mean people yelling at me! Although my first day on the job I ended up with a ton of ink on my face.

I have a new sense of freedom. With that freedom, though, comes a bit of anxiety. Of course I worry a little about money, but I’ve done a pretty decent job of only taking gigs that pay well, so it’s not a huge concern. I think the anxiety comes from not feeling like I’m doing enough: some days I feel unproductive and like I’ve wasted time. Writing “to do” lists for the next day before I got to sleep, and keeping my calendar up to date is helping with this. Being organized and being able to cross things off a list as they get completed is a great feeling to me.

I’ve also been turning down work that either doesn’t interest me, or won’t pay enough per hour. I’m valuing my time more than I was when I was employed full-time, and getting better at saying “no” to things that won’t further my goals, and will take away precious time I could better spend working on things I enjoy. And that feels great.

10685570_796452570414163_7352046617367804110_n.jpg

One thought on “So what do you do?

  1. Pingback: Sunday Sundries| Vol. 27 » Mel Had Tea

Leave a Reply

