Week 12: Cold reading

This is finally happening! My LONG overdue blog post about my week 12 challenge. 

You might be thinking, hey, didn’t this happen over a month ago? And the answer is yes. Have I been way too busy to write a simple blog post? Nope, just the normal level of holiday busy combined with a bit of laziness and a dash of procrastination. Better late than never?

If you know me, you may think that this post will be about me huddling in my apartment reading a book, under a blanket, with my Magic Bag hidden under an oversized hoodie. But no! I did something I’d never done and I went to a cold read for the New Ideas Festival (NIF). It’s basically just a bunch of actors (and me) reading scenes from newly written plays, without looking at the scripts beforehand.

My friend, Natalie, who is currently in the lead for most shout outs on my blog (I seriously want her to be a life coach for people like me), wrote a play for the festival and mentioned on Facebook that they were looking for people to participate in the cold read. Initially I wasn’t interested, but then I remembered that this is my year of trying new things, and this was a new thing!

I signed up for a time slot and made my way over to a theatre in the east end on a Wednesday night. There were a few directors and writers and stage managers sitting in the theatre, as well as the festival organizers and some actors. I was asked to read a character in two of the four plays that night, because they needed a 27 year old female for two parts. 

On the one hand, I was a little nervous going into this, but on the other hand I felt completely fine. After all, I was in the same boat as everyone else – no one had seen the plays before. But I was also in a room with people who had done more theatre than I have (except for that one play I did in university, and improv, I’m a newb to the theatre). 

I am so glad that I took the opportunity to do something new! I had a lot of fun, met some really great people, and ended up signing up for an audition for the festival (2 challenges in 1). Even if nothing else comes of it, it was still a good experience and something fun and new.

il_570xN.517851998_pawq.jpg

Leave a Reply

